Skip to content

16 Sept 2009 A Scenic Day Out in Walmart

September 18, 2009

Today the highlight of the day was definitely what I have been referring to as my scenic walking tour of Walmart. What an interesting insight into the culture! I might make it my habit to compare countries on the basis of their shops, how big they are and what they have in stock. It was certainly something I noted in New Zealand, how shops would tend to combine so that you could have a hardware store that could also be a post office and perhaps a bicycle shop too, oh and the pub that was also a petrol station! “What will it be?” “A pint of your finest petroleum for the misses please!”

What makes Walmart astonishing to the outsider is that you can buy your vegetables, your hunting outfit, your bicycle, your hook plus line and sinker (the sign for this particular aisle amused me immensely), and even outfits for your dog (yes really! see my pictures). You are spoilt with a huge variety of “toaster pastries”, multi-coloured, excessively sugar-filled cereals and barbeque sauces as well as the equivalent of English catering sizes of pancake mix, syrup and tins of mixed fruit. Do not come to this place without a shopping list, nor if you are the indecisive type. It had so much stock that it was about the size of a small English city, I’m quite sure that it took longer to walk from one end to the other than it takes to walk from one end of Bath to the other, especially as one is bombarded along the way with lots of cheaply-priced items (compared to Britain’s prices) that one is keen to snap up whilst one sees them.

I bought a pair of cycling gloves (I’d managed to leave my well-travelled pair somewhere inconvenient so they couldn’t be packed,) for the same price of a cappuccino and a slice of cake from my local coffee shop. I also stocked up on some of the foodstuffs that I had become fond of whilst I lived in the US in 2002 and 2003; namely A1 steak sauce and plenty of barbeque sauce! I did wander down the candy aisle, but being as I only wanted one Tootsie Roll (a type of small sweet/candy perhaps a little like toffee but with a shape and texture like a liquorice roll), I ended up with nothing because you can’t buy a bag containing less than 1000 (ok, I admit to this exaggeration but it is, nevertheless, a large number). I opted instead for a Skor bar which is the US equivalent of a UK Dime bar but obviously not quite so nice because it’s covered in Hershey’s chocolate (I’m an unashamed English chocolate lover, don’t get me started on Australian/Kiwi Cadburies…)

Anyway, crazy bike lady rides again this weekend because some kind folk from around here are lending me a bicycle and letting me tag along on their 2 day, 100-mile long sponsored bike ride around Indiana’s Amish country.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 8:36 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. crazybikelady permalink*
    October 5, 2009 5:57 pm

    Thanks! Always good to know that this is being enjoyed 🙂 Helps keep me writing.

Leave a Reply

